RSS Feed

A Newlywed Christmas

A Newlywed Christmas

My schedule this weekend is insane. Let’s just say that we haven’t figured out the puzzle that is family gatherings.

Whose to go to?
Can we leave early and arrive late?
What about the dog?
Are we even going to be there for the meal that we’re bringing food for?

It’s a little comical but not stressful – thankfully! It’s a complicated matter that will have to be worked and reworked each year. But this year we decided to do it all.

The man and I will be running from his grandparents’ house, to dessert with my parents and midnight service on Christmas eve, staying the night, waking up for Christmas breakfast and morning with my family, running out to see Matt’s grandparents in the evening and then my other grandparents the day after Christmas. This doesn’t even include the Christmas that we already had with Matt’s parents.

Whew!

Needless to say, we don’t have much time for the two of us (three if you count Lexie!) to enjoy Christmas together. So we are celebrating tonight! The eve of the eve of Christmas Eve. Haha.

It began with an “Early Morning Cook” adventure, and for those of you that know me, you know that I don’t have much grace in the kitchen. I actually follow recipes and still manage to mess things up. But today I did not have a recipe at all…

I had a porkloin. I’m slightly obsessive about cutting the fat off of meat… pork was probably not my best idea! It was so nasty, in fact, that I don’t want to gross you out by posting the picture I had taken!

Anyways. So then I cut it in half and threw it in my crockpot with a bunch of other things that I had sitting around like peaches, onions, salsa, hotsauce, broth, salt and pepper and some wierd leftover hawaiian marinade. I’m keeping my finger’s crossed that it will turn out, but it smells delicious so there’s hope!

My Food Adventures

A New Invention!

After we eat our lovely porkloin Matthew and I are going ice skating downtown and reading the Christmas story from the Bible. Crank up the Christmas music! Should be a fun evening!

Anyways: Here are just some of my house decorations. I got creative with the ornaments because I didn’t think we were going to have a tree this year… But then we got one and it was the best thing since bees knees because my family hasn’t had a tree in years (It got replaced by a baby grand piano when I was a kid. Bummer, but still plenty of room for presents under there.).

Stairway Christmas Decorations

Stairway/Entry Christmas Decorations


Entryway Chandelier Decoration

Beads on my Entryway Chandelier


Christmas Snowman Decoration

The Fat Snowman Guarding my M&Ms


Christmas Wreath

Christmas Wreath


Christmas ornaments hanging on my windows! (Ignore the puppy playing on the couch)

I hung Christmas ornaments on my windows with varying lengths of ribbon. (Ignore the puppy playing on the couch)


Looking into the dining room. Garlands and icicle lights baby!

Looking into the dining room. Garlands and icicle lights baby!


Decorated dining room chandelier.

Decorated dining room chandelier.


Christmas card collection and the mistletoe I made for my hubby last year.

Christmas card collection and the mistletoe I made for my hubby last year.

How do you celebrate Christmas and how do you decorate for Christmas? Have you tried anything new lately? I love hearing from you!

For more inspiration please visit March 27 Designs!

Share this on Twitter!
Like March 27 Designs on Facebook!

About Mara Olson

Iā€™m addicted to dreaming! Iā€™m also a work in progress, constantly learning and falling in love with the beautiful things in life. This blog is a snapshot of my inspirations, loves, and desire to create something beautiful and meaningful through my designs. I hope that as you join me, you will be inspired to create a wedding that truly reflects you and your hopes for that day.

4 responses »

  1. Mara, your home is beautiful! What a lovely wife Matt has! šŸ™‚ I’m glad that you are spending time just the two of you to remember our precious Saviour’s birth. May your Christmas be filled with love, joy and the pressence of JESUS. šŸ™‚ ā¤ ya.

    Reply
  2. Nice work!!!!!!!!!!!!your house looks amazing!!! cant wait to see it new years eve!!!

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous! Makes me miss Christmas even more! It’s really not a big deal over here in Kenya, which is sad. They only play Christmas music on Christmas day and nobody decorates their houses. I decorated mine anyway! Lots of snowflakes despite the 70 degree weather!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the comments! I love hearing from you all! Merry Christmas everyone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

